::Just stick your GWP up your A*$
4:03 p.m. - 2004-04-05

I somehow thought that because I will have the rest of the week off that I wouldn't mind staying all day today when everyone else except my boss left at 2pm for Passover. It shouldn't matter to me, really; after all, I'm not Jewish, and I do have the rest of the week off, with all day tomorrow to pack and run around like a small plump chicken with her head cut off trying to get packed and ready for the wedding. It does, though. It actually sucks majorly to stay at work when everyone else is looooooong gone to happy hour (noone in this office is Jewish save one, so noone is worring about getting their Seder ready around here) and I'm sittin' on my rear writing in my journal. Alas!

Well, things could be a lot worse. I did get all of my work done and I am leaving soon and I'm gonna be in Vegas in two days, so I really can't complain! I'd like to leave, though.

What is really amazing is how un-real this whole wedding thing is. I know I keep hashing on it, but soon enough the event will be over and I'l have something else to harp about, so hang tight, everyone who's sick of me. I promise I'll have lots of interesting stories to share next week. I'm not sure if I'm more excited about the weekender or about the wedding - it's all kind of rolled up into one. Still, it blows me away that I'm going to be Mrs. someone again, and the best part is how happy I really am about it, when I sort it all out. It's such a huge chaotic mix of emotions that it's hard to make heads or tails of it sometimes.

I got a reception reply card in the mail on Saturday from someone that I used to work with selling cosmetics back in the Midwest. She said that she wouldn't be able to make it to my wedding reception because it was right in the middle of her GWP (gift with purchase) and it would be impossible to get the time off. Now, while I understand that it is indeed a big fat stupid deal to try and request time off during gift, I sang at her freakin' wedding and it seems kind of cold the way she is putting me off. Seriously, I thought that we were better friends -- when I left husband-number-one for good, she let me sleep on her couch until I found a place to live (it was about 5 days). We always seemed to have great times when we were together back in Indiana. I'm a little baffled by her behavior now. I had to send the invitation to her parents because she had moved and changed her phone number, and I had no other way to reach her... I finally, after getting the reply card, called up all of the Clinique counters in Indianapolis until I found her. I did talk to her for a few minutes, but she seemed self-absorbed and detached, and pretty much like she didn't really give a flying fuck if she ever saw me again or not.

Now, at this point I feel like it's all a waste of my energy to be upset - after all, what am I really losing by not keeping in contact with her that makes any difference? Not much. Still, I think this whole thing is fucked. I swear, sometimes I really don't understand where people are coming from.

be || free

+ current
+ archives
+ profile
+ reviews
+ book
+ notes
+ email
+ design
+ diaryland
+ other diaries
dirtylinda
sicknick
abittergirl
pixie0323
oddly-enough
cargal
hotrodgal

::I AM This is the rants and raves of a Rockabilly Opera Singer. So far, I'm the only one I know out there....