::Indy2
4:20 p.m. - 2004-05-06

Sometimes just as I'm getting into an entry, W comes back from lunch and I have to quit writing. Sorry about that.

So, where was I? Oh, yes, giving background on the reason why I'm iffy on going to Indy this year for the weekender. So, the few greasers that lived in town all hung out together and we became decent friends. And we all did things together and generally had a good time. SW and I did things with the singer across the street and his wife all of the time, and it all seemed good. Except that at least once a week the singer's nutty wife would do something to piss us all off, but all in all we pretty much ignored these things and went on with our lives.

Well, summer comes along and it comes time for me to move back to Indiana to finish college (I had been living with SW for a year while I healed from an iky auto-bicycle accident where I broke my leg and was in a wheelchair for a while, and which prevented me from graduating from college on time). I had one last class that I had to drop put of after the accident and I was excited about getting finished and finally getting my degree. I moved back to Indiana and every day sucked because I missed SW so much. We planned to go to the Indy Weekender and it was about 3 weeks after classes started, so I just couldn't wait for it to come - weekenders are awesome as it is, and I was really anxious about seeing SW, too. I don't think I really realized quite how much I was in love with him until I had to move to another state. I think maybe he realized it, too. But I'll get back to that.

The weekender ***finally*** came along and I was soooo excited! SW's brother, who is just barrels of fun and whom I adore was going to be there, too, as well as all of the gang from Champaign, and a bunch of other people I know from all over, so I was just super excited. I get to the hotel and as I'm driving up, the singer and one of the other kids from the Champaign gang happen to be right in front. I shout out to them, and they seem kind of reserved. I ask what's going on, and it turns out that they've had trouble with their car driving there - I guess it overheated and they were all pretty shaken about it. I ask if I can help, and they say no, so I tell them that I'm going to get checked in and that I'll see them in a little while. I go and check in, and get settled. SW and his brother won't be coming 'till the next day, so I'm going stag for the evening. I get settled and then wander downstairs to see who's there. As I run into different folks from Champaign, everyone seems kind of distant and strange, and I can't quite figure out what it is. I run into the singer's wife and she is particularly cold to me. Even with the weirdness that she usually has, this seems strange. But I try to ignore it and have a good time anyway; there are lots of other people there that I know, as well as great music and vendors, so I'm not unentertained.

Anyway, I went to the show and that was fine, and I had a good evening. The next day, SW and his brother show up and SW and I have a most fantastic reunion - I'm thrilled to see him and he gave me this huge hug and kiss. Since they're both staying in the same room as I am, they unpack, and all of that. I don't remember all of the exact events of the next hour, and besides, you probably don't care - I think I went across the street to buy beer or something. But anyway, the next time that I see SW's brother, he tells me that the singer's wife came up to him and told him that I am complete slut and that I was having an affair with her husband, and that she felt bad for SW because he was so stupid that he didn't even realize what a whore I am and how I'm fucking him over.

Holy motherfucking God! What??????

I almost threw up. This was the most outrageous thing I had ever heard! Not only was it untrue (I think the singer is the best and a super guy, but I was so completely into SW that I'm sure everyone could tell!), but she was telling this to SW's brother! And adding to it what an idiot SW is! And how all of this could have ever even been possible, I don't know, since I had moved to another state!!!

I was so very, very angry that I swear, had I had a gun, I'd probably be in prison right now.

I realized why everyone had been acting so weird. I never really got to talk much to the singer at the weekender, because she was always nearby and I have no idea if he knew that she was saying these things about me, or him, for that matter. It was horrible. I cried, and I was livid. I wanted to kill her. SW and his brother were livid too, but we all decided that the best thing to do was to just ignore it, because everyone had to know that she was nuts and that this was a bunch of bullshit. So I didn't speak to her for the rest of the weekend and just tried to believe that it had never been said.

Unfortunately, it wasn't that easy. Apparently, she made a point to tell this to everyone that she came across - including people that I hardly knew or didn't know at all. As I understand it, she's still saying this shit about me, although I have heard from several of my better friends that they have flat out told her to shut up about this bullshit because both SW and I are good people and that her story is a crock of shit.

And I think it's pretty obvious that SW and I are together and solid, because he proposed to me that very same weekend and we're married and awfully happy, now. He's really such a blessing to me. I'm lucky.

But anyway. The whole point is that I'm ancy about going to the weekender given everything that happenned at the last weekender. Also, I had this conversation with this guy I know in Indianapolis a week or so back, and it's been resonating with me ever since. This guy is a fella that I met at a rockabilly show about a year ago in Indy. He lives up there, and outside of being just the smallest bit dorky, he's okay. I teach swing dance and he didn't know how to dance, so I told him that if I ever saw him before a show or something that I'd give him a quick lesson. I ran into him again several times at subsequent shows, and we ended up exchanging phone numbers because the shows were never a good place for a dance lesson. I was never interested in this guy, but I found out later that he was interested in me because he relayed a conversation that he had had with the singer's wife:

He asked her if she knew me, because he liked me and would like to ask me out. She replied that yes, she knew me, and that I had a boyfriend, but she didn't suppose that mattered much becuase I was a whore and went out with all sorts of other men. So, she said, go ahead and ask her out.

Jesus, what a bitch.

Anyway, he told me all of this, and asked me if it was true. (I think maybe he was still hoping to ask me out!!!! ick.) Anyway, I replied that I knew that she was saying a bunch of horrid things about me, but that they were untrue, that I did have a boyfriend whom I really cared about, and basically that she was a psychotic bitch, but that I didn't feel it was worth my effort to confront her about it and make a scene. (Just to clarify, this conversation happenned last summer.)

This cat called me up last week and was telling me all of this crap about what's going on in Indy, and he told me that the singer's wife is still (after a year) saying shit about me. I can't understand why she still persits in this, as I haven't been anywhere near Illinois in all of this time, and I really hoped that this would all die out. I also don't really understand why any of this started. I'm afraid that if I go, the weekender will be full of strange feelings and that I'll have a shitty time, and that the whole thing will suck.

So, you made it through the whole thing. What do you think? Any thoughts on what this is all about?

be || free

+ current
+ archives
+ profile
+ reviews
+ book
+ notes
+ email
+ design
+ diaryland
+ other diaries
dirtylinda
sicknick
abittergirl
pixie0323
oddly-enough
cargal
hotrodgal

::I AM This is the rants and raves of a Rockabilly Opera Singer. So far, I'm the only one I know out there....