::indy1
1:49 p.m. - 2004-05-06

Today I think I'm gonna tell you something that may or may not be more interesting than all of the other crap I've posted lately. It's not really gossip in the true sense of the word, since it all happened (well, nothing actually *happenned* just one person freaked out about nothing) over a year ago.

The reason I'm even thinking about all of this is this. There is a really fun rockabilly weekender that takes place in Indianapolis every year. I want to go because I have gone the last two years and it's a blast. I met SW there, and because I used to live in Indiana, I have a handful of really good friends that I would also be able to see while I'm there, along with folks who don't live in Indiana that always make their way to the weekender, too. However, there are a few reasons that I'm hesitant to go. The first is that I just don't have the money, and it would be a huge stretch. As SW has just given notice at his job and is thinking about going back to school instead of getting another one, my finances are just going to get tighter and, in reality, this will probably be the reason that I won't go. The second is that our wedding reception is in Illinois in July, two weekends after the weekender takes place, and I highly doubt that we'll be able to afford and get the time off work to be gone twice in such a short period of time. The third reason, though, is the one that bothers me the most. I'm afraid that it actually wouldn't be as fun as it has in past years. I'm afraid that if we did go, we'd see friends and stuff, but then seeing them again two weeks later would be anti-climatic and would make the wedding reception suck. Or worse, that they wouldn't come to the reception. But mostly I'm afraid that it wouldn't be fun because of a conversation with someone I know back in Indiana that I had recently.

I'll give you a little more background so that this won't be as confusing as it could be.

When I lived in Champaign, SW and I became really close friends with the members of the one rockabilly band in town. The lead singer and guitarist lived in an apartment across the street from us, so we'd hang out together with him and his wife pretty frequently. We had cookouts together and went out together and whatnot, and it was usually cool. Now, the singer is a really neat, cool, awesome guy, and he and I always got along great. His wife, on the other hand, was a really strange kind of chick. She always had a problem with something, and she was always getting pissed off and freaking out about things that noone else seemed to understand. She was very obviously unhappy, she was overweight, she was unattractive, and most of all, she had an incredible talent to be an insulting bitch. Despite all of this, both SW and I were nice to her anyway (sometimes going waaaaay out of our way to be nice to her when she didn't deserve it), becuase we really liked the singer, and he was our good friend, and since she's his wife, it was only fitting.

Anyway, there were a few other people in town who also went to see this band on a regular basis (that is, the three greasers in the whole town and then about three other people), and since we were all at the same shows together all of the time, we all became friends and hung out.

... this gets better, to be continued.

be || free

+ current
+ archives
+ profile
+ reviews
+ book
+ notes
+ email
+ design
+ diaryland
+ other diaries
dirtylinda
sicknick
abittergirl
pixie0323
oddly-enough
cargal
hotrodgal

::I AM This is the rants and raves of a Rockabilly Opera Singer. So far, I'm the only one I know out there....