::Mother's Day
12:59 p.m. - 2004-05-10

Mom spent the weekend with me and SW at our house. I think that she had a nice time - she kept saying so. The good news is that her blood sugar stayed withing normal levels almost the entire time she was visiting, which I think is really super. We went out to lunch twice and went to the beach and went for a drive in the really nic esunny weather. It was all in all a decent weekend.

I'm a freakin' tired, though. SW and I went to bed pretty late on Fri nite because we were both working on the house. We got up early on Saturday to try and get all of our errands done before Mom got here about noon - I didn't even get a chance to take a shower because I had so much running around to do and everything always takes longer that you think it will.

One of my errands was to get some extra paint to finish a little spot in the bathroom. I went over to Home Depot and the garden area was just full of beautiful plans and flowers, so I ended up getting some plants for our yard. I got a pair of large lavender plants and a pair of daisy plants with lovely small white daisies for the flowerbed in the front yard, as well as a hanging fuschia for the porch and some purple and white assylum for along the walkway. I also got some tomato plants and basil and I dug a garden bed in the back yard and planted them all this weekend. I am especially proud of the tomatoes - I dug up the entire bed myself and turned all of the soil and made a lovely little garden. :) I hope it will be sunny and warm enough for us to have lots of tomatoes! :) I've always wanted to have a little kitchen garden, and now that I have a yard, I've finally got the chance! I might pick up a few other herb plants and I think it would be really neat to plant acorn squash, but squash plants go crazy and it might be too much for our little yard. The one other thing that I want to do is plant some sunflowers at the top of the hill. Our yard has a lawn area and then there is a really steep hill that nothing except wild grass and wild sweet peas grow on. It gets really out of control, actually; SW got up there with the weed wacker thing (the landlord said we could buy another one and deduct it from the rent) and cut down all of the grass that was about 3 feet high. It looks a lot better, now! There is another house at the top of the hill that looks down on our backyard, though. SW and I had the thought that maybe if we planted sunflowers at the top of the hill, it would create a natural barrier and give us just a little bit more privacy in the yard.

Anyway, that's pretty much what I did this weekend. My Mom sat out in the yard and kept me company as I worked on all of this. We talked, she watched the video of the wedding in Vegas, and she said that she thought it was really cute.

My sister is a bitch and called my mom after she got my email about wanting to make up, and said that i was overly dramatic and patronizing. Whatever.

be || free

+ current
+ archives
+ profile
+ reviews
+ book
+ notes
+ email
+ design
+ diaryland
+ other diaries
dirtylinda
sicknick
abittergirl
pixie0323
oddly-enough
cargal
hotrodgal

::I AM This is the rants and raves of a Rockabilly Opera Singer. So far, I'm the only one I know out there....