::Freelance Puffing
3:56 p.m. - 2004-05-27

I am thinking about going back to work as a Peachy's Puff in the evenings. All in all, this is probably NOT a good idea. However, I already called the office and talked to the manager and asked her to put me back on the schedule. I haven't really got a good reason that I'm thinking about doing this except that I am worried about money and feeling like I need to be making more. The thing is, I am completely and utterly exhausted and what I really need to do is take advantage of the fact that it is a three day weekend and my car isn't working to say - "Hey, I'm fucking sleeping in and doing nothing for three days, so leave me the fuck alone."

But will I do that? I don't know. Maybe I will!!!

Maybe I'll finally keep good with that 'say no' vow and just stay home and do nothing and not feel like a zombie. I already called my mom and told her that I can't go to Stockton to list all of the stuff on Ebay that her idiot husband won't or can't or can't figure out or whatever the idiot excuse is this time because the car is not working well. I could just as easily call Stephanie back at Peachy's and tell her that the car isn't happenning, so maybe we should just plan for next weekend instead. I could.

If I really feel guilty, I could start listing my own stuff on Ebay this weekend.

And I could finally file my taxes. THAT would be money...

And I could sleep for 14 hours straight and not have anyone bug me. Maybe I'll buy one of those face mask thingies.

I want to sell my hair flowers. I make beautiful hair flowers and I know that they would sell... they're really intricate and lovely! I carfully select glitter to adorn each one that is just the right color, and then I use it to make them that much more gorgeous... I have all kinds of flowers from lilies to roses to daisies to orchids, and they are all really pretty. Everyone says so when I wear them - I know someone would like them.

If I went out Puffing (working as a cigarette girl for Peachy's) I know that I could put some on my tray and someone would buy them. I have many times considered building my own tray and sweing a little costume and going out on my own. The thing is, when you work for Peachy's, you sell the stuff on your tray for an unbelievab;e markup - a pack of cigs is $7-8, but then, Peachy's charges the cigarette girl $6, so you only make maybe a dollar a pack. Still, it's good money, but if I built my own tray and bought a carton of cigs, I could sell them cheaper, say for something like $5.50 a pack - about what they charge at the corner store - and still be making a profit. And I could put my hair flowers and candy and all sorts of other stuff on the tray, too, and I'd be making the bank. The thing is, I'd have to be careful not to tread on the Peachy's territory, because I wouldn't want to get in trouble. But San Francisco is big and there are millions of clubs. What's the chance that the bouncer at one club vs another will even know the difference between me and some other cigarette girl?

I have thought about this before and really thought it was a good idea, but I just never went to the trouble of buying all the merchandise and making a tray and costume.

I don't know. We really, really need the money now that SW is starting barber school and won't be working - I need to have a little bit of spending money or I'll go nuts. I'm not talking about going out to lunch 4 times a week or anything... I just don't wan't to have to hunt around in the couch when the Falcon breaks down and I have to take the bus to work. And I had a little bit of money saved from the settlement I had from the accident (when I was hit by a car while riding my bike back in 2002) and I have had to keep pulling from it to make ends meet. I want to pay myself back. I've never had any money in my whole life and I just wanted to have that little bit to maybe someday be able to put a down payment on a house (it's no way near enough right now, but I really wanted to try and save and earn some interest on it and then maybe in like 10 years or something it might be enough...)

So, that's where I am. I dunno. We'll see how the car is running in the morning and take it from there.

At the moment I can't go and Puff anyway. I have no way to get there.

I am so exhausted that I don't think I'm even going to go to the gym today, which is lame, becuase I went on Tuesday and it was awesome and I felt great, and I really wanted to make a regular Tuesday-Thursday thing out of it. But I feel like if I don't go straight home and go to bed that I am going to be sick all weekend.

DAMN IT! CAN I JUST PLEASE GO FOR MORE THAN TWO WEEKS WITHOUT FEELING LIKE I'M GETTING SICK AGAIN??? PLEASE??? WHAT THE HELL IS THE MATTER WITH ME???

How's that for dramatic, eh?

be || free

+ current
+ archives
+ profile
+ reviews
+ book
+ notes
+ email
+ design
+ diaryland
+ other diaries
dirtylinda
sicknick
abittergirl
pixie0323
oddly-enough
cargal
hotrodgal

::I AM This is the rants and raves of a Rockabilly Opera Singer. So far, I'm the only one I know out there....