::Jivin' at the front desk
12:43 p.m. - 2004-03-30

Every single work day, I cover for W (the receptionist and my awesome friend) when he goes to lunch. This means that I get to sit at his desk and do nothing except answer the phone and occasionally let people in the front door. It is fantastic! I wouldn't want this to be my all the time job, but I love the fact that I have a whole hour of goofing off time built into my day, and I get to leave and take lunch after that. All in all, it's a great gig. I can read my email, browse the web (I've been checking up on my wedding registries lately which is kind of fun, but noone has bought us anything yet), and update my journal - I get to tell you all about the lots of nothing that I'm doing!

I really, really want to start working on the dress tonight. I also want to teach SW how to do the jive. I have been practicing every night, which is phenominal - good for me - and I might actually have the Fire Aria down soon. I realized when attemptimg to fill out my application for the scholarship competition that is due this Saturday that I am suppossed to have 2 things to participate that I don't currently have: # 1 is that one of my art songs needs to be in English, something that I completely overlooked, but I think I can manage to fix before crunch time (actually might be good, because I can can 'Dans un bois solitaire' which I haven't done for so long that it's too rusty to re-surface). #2 is that I need to bring my own accompanist, which may prove to be a real pain in the ass, since the new fellow I'm starting to work with isn't available that day. I'm hoping that maybe by some miraculous chance the lady who plays for CSUH will already be playing for someone who is also competing and then she'll be thrilled to play for me as well. Ack.

Some extremely good news that I'm hoping will pan out is that someone posted to me this morning that they have a room at the Gold Coast that they aren't using!!! I've emailed her now and I have everything crossed that I can cross hoping that noone has beaten me to the punch on that one. If SW and I don't have to change hotels right before the ceremony, I will feel so much better.... oh, please, please, please let it work out!!!

I think that Miss Wolff's jive video is great. Jive has a great looking basic that is fairly simple. The turns or moves are also very simple and similar to ECS - it's pretty intuitive. I think what I like best about it, besides how cool it looks and how undoubtedly fun it will be to dance it, is that it is in 2 counts and therefore logially fits with the music. There isn't a confusing rock step that puts a sensitive music listener off-beat. I can't wait to corner SW so we can learn it together!

Vegas is 8 days away, and I'll be Mrs. SW in 9! WOW!

be || free

+ current
+ archives
+ profile
+ reviews
+ book
+ notes
+ email
+ design
+ diaryland
+ other diaries
dirtylinda
sicknick
abittergirl
pixie0323
oddly-enough
cargal
hotrodgal

::I AM This is the rants and raves of a Rockabilly Opera Singer. So far, I'm the only one I know out there....