::more wedding descriptions
11:25 a.m. - 2004-04-16

Where was I? Oh, yes, gushing on about Vegas.

Well, I won't gush too much more, but here's the rest of it:

The Graceland Wedding Chapel is fantastic. It's lovely inside and the staff are really kind and helpful. The didn't make us feel rushed at all! The flowers were great - everything was great. The minister we had (who was an Elvis impersonator) was perfect; the ceremony he performed was beautiful and obviously taken very seriously, and yet lots of fun at the same time. He helped me to feel much more calm and he was very, very nice. Our other Elvis, who walked me down the aisle and sang, was also phenominal! He had a great voice and presence, and he was super about taking pictures and goofing around, and he also made us feel very comfortable. All in all, it was amazing. I couldn't have had a better time! I was so glad that SW's parents made it there, even if mine weren't there - it made it really special.

It was a knock down good time and I'll never forget it. And the very best part I got to bring home and keep forever - my wonderful husband whom I love more than I think I will ever be able to describe. :)

Something to remember, though - if you are getting married, don't make or alter your own wedding dress. Just DON'T! Pay someone else to do it! Really; the nightmare of trying to get it just perfect and staying up late night after night and just barely getting it finished at the last minute isn't worth it. You'll give yourself a heart attack! Even if you are a decent seamstress (which I sometimes am), you'll make yourself insane. I was so thankful and lucky that I got it finished in time, I can't even tell you.

All that aside, at least it turned out decently!

The folks at work are throwing me a little party this afternoon to celebrate my wedding. :) Hurray! SW couldn't be here, but I am excited that everyone is being so sweet about it. My boss already gave SW and me a super neat-o present; it's a brand-new, but made exactly like an old (repro is probably the word) toaster. It's one of those that has little handles and you place one slice of the bread on the little ledge and then close the door, and it holds the bread right next to the heating element. When you think it's tasted the way you like it, you have to open the door with the handle, and the way the door is designed, it flips the bread so you can close it again and toast the other side. It's really cool! The thing is, you really have to keep an eye on it or it burns the toast to a crisp. It looks neat in my kitchen and it works great, though.

Reply cards for the reception are trickling in slowly. I'm looking forward to the party - it will be great to see old friends and the fellas in the band that's playing are good friends of ours. It's a kick a$% band, too. It should be awesome - I guess I'll have to cool my heels about it until it comes up in July, though.

The one bad thing about being in Vegas was all of the cigerette smoke. It made me sick and I'm still trying to get over it; I think the combo of utter exhaustion and the bad air along with the cigs really did a number on me... I lost my voice this week, and while it's easing back now, I'm still coughing a lot and my throat is very dry. I'm worried about it because I really, really need to practice; I have a lesson on Sunday, an audition on Monday, and then yet another audition next Saturday. I want to make good showings on these things and it really frustrates me to be ill prepared, but I just feel lousy and my voice isn't in any kind of shape to be pushing it! I guess I'll just have to take it easy, practice gently and hope for the best. Keep your fingers crossed for me that I can get it together by Sunday, will you kids?

You know, I had a really awesome calendar book and I lost it. I don't have a clue where it is. I looked all over the house and in my office and as of yet it hasn't turned up. I'm scheduling so many rehearsals and lessons now that I really wish I had it. It looked cool, too; it was full of photos of ads from the 60s. Perhaps you've seen those - there is a series of books with ads from the 40s 50s and 60s and it was put together by the same folks. I've seen them at Borders and whatnot. Anyway, I want it back! It had all of my competition dates for the entire year in it. Hey... I wonder if I left it with my voice teacher...I don't think I've seen it since the last time I saw her. Well, I guess I'll find out on Sunday.

be || free

+ current
+ archives
+ profile
+ reviews
+ book
+ notes
+ email
+ design
+ diaryland
+ other diaries
dirtylinda
sicknick
abittergirl
pixie0323
oddly-enough
cargal
hotrodgal

::I AM This is the rants and raves of a Rockabilly Opera Singer. So far, I'm the only one I know out there....