::the weekend is coming - Tiki Drinks!
12:35 p.m. - 2004-04-23

La tee dah, I'm at the front desk.

I couldn't update yesterday - I was really busy and had lots of work to do, and W had a weird lunch schedule so I didn't really get to have my goofing off time. That's okay, I suppose. It can't really hurt for me to be doing my job. :)

I cancelled the WBO audition. I felt weird about leaving a message; I wanted to talk to an actual person, but no one answered after calling several times, just I just went ahead and left one. I'm sure they got it, so hopefully it's okay. I'm feeling a little bit better today; I'm trying not to talk as much as possible, so that I maybe will heal enough to sing in the scholarship competition tomorrow. I don't know; I think maybe, somehow, I should just cancel it all and really take the time to rest and finally get over this thing. I suppose I'll just wait and see how I feel tomorrow, though. I would like to sing in the scholarship compeition; after all, this is the only time I'll have the chance. Next year I'll be too old for the age cutoff. The exposure would be nice, and I'd like to see how I fair in the competition and if I'll get any recognition. The $2000 wouldn't hurt, either! I don't care much about the money, really, though; I'm more interested in just getting my face out there. And it would be really neat if SW finally got a chance to hear me sing in a public performance. We've been together for 2 years and he still hasn't seen me perform.

So, I'll be quiet and see how my voice feels in the morning.

I got some pictures in the mail last night that my sister took at the wedding. Most of them are nothing to write home about, but there are a few, including one of SW and I both crying during the ceremony - his face is all red, and I am looking at him with the most earnest and happy smile, with a tear running down my cheek - it made me cry all over again just seeing it. It was so sweet I couldn't even believe it. I love him so much. On the other hand, all the pictures that my brother-in-law is in look rediculous! I hadn't realized it at the time, but when we came home and watched the video, we saw that he was standing there chomping on his gum through the entire ceremony! It was hilarious, actually, but he looks like a dufus in all of the photos, because he's chewing that idiot gum instead of smiling. Oh, well, I guess it's all part of the way of things. hee hee.

My sister is coming down to visit me next weekend and she's bringing the rest of the photos she took, as well as her cute doggy! I really like her little dog - her name is Jenny and she is part italian greyhound and part lab. She's fast as lightening and cute as hell. I like her. The plan is that we're going to mix tiki drinks and hang out at the house for the evening, I think - maybe I'll make some pupus or something. I'm looking forward to the chance to get really sloshed and not have anywhere to drive. Hurray! Yum!

I'm also kind of excited about the fact that SW and I are going over to J&K's new condo this weekend for drinks before the DeMarco's show. It was really swell of them to invite us; I really, really like both of them. They're a great couple; cool, fun, down to earth and real, and we can all relate. They make me happy. I jst found out that K is pregnant! She said something about not drinking when we were in Vegas and I remember having the vague thought that perhaps she wasn't drinking because she was pregnant, but then it slipped away from me in that haze of over-stimulated pleasure that is VLV. I am so excited for the both of them; I think they'll be great parents and I know that they've wanted this for a long time. It's always really fantastic when two people who are as in love as they are, and so solid in their love and relationship (if you know what I mean) bring another person into the world. You can just feel how very much that child is going to be loved. It's a beautiful thing.

Here I am, though, going on and on about happy love when sweet lissacakes has no car and El Toro won't kiss her! I really, really hope he comes around for her.

be || free

+ current
+ archives
+ profile
+ reviews
+ book
+ notes
+ email
+ design
+ diaryland
+ other diaries
dirtylinda
sicknick
abittergirl
pixie0323
oddly-enough
cargal
hotrodgal

::I AM This is the rants and raves of a Rockabilly Opera Singer. So far, I'm the only one I know out there....