::diabates education class
10:03 a.m. - 2004-04-30

Oh, the good news is that I did find a class in Stockton where my mom lives for people newly diagnosed with diabetes. It runs on Monday nights for four weeks from 6.30-8.30pm at the hospital, and it's held by a nurse who has diabetes herself and a dietitan who can help you to make up a diet and meal plan and everything. Apparently they explain all you need to know about how the diesase works, what it does and why it makes you sick, how the medications treat it, why you can and can't eat certain foods and how to re-arrange your diet and lifestyle to get healthier. I also found out that there is a food bank in Stockton that all you have to do is show up with an ID and they'll give you a whole bunch of free groceries once a week for as long as you need them. I talked to the woman at the food bank and it sounds like they have all sorts of yummy and healthy things.

I told my mom about all of this and she was really pleased and excited. I told her that I would like to drive to Stockton for the classes every Monday this month, and pick her up and that we could both go together - that way we'll both have a better idea of what this is all about. She was thrilled and sounded really happy about it. I told her that it was really just an excuse for me to see her every Monday. :)

be || free

+ current
+ archives
+ profile
+ reviews
+ book
+ notes
+ email
+ design
+ diaryland
+ other diaries
dirtylinda
sicknick
abittergirl
pixie0323
oddly-enough
cargal
hotrodgal

::I AM This is the rants and raves of a Rockabilly Opera Singer. So far, I'm the only one I know out there....