::Hawaiian Dress
1:04 p.m. - 2004-06-18

Yay, I'm updating.

It's a sunny, brezzy, not-to-hot afternoon, and it's Friday. All of those things are wonderful, in my view.

I am looking forward to seeing a play that my very good friend Becca is in. As with W, who I work with, Becca is always in plays and musicals, and I almost never make it to see any of them, except when I can get comp tickets. Which I did this time, so SW and I will see Becca! Hurray! (Actually, there is no way I'd be able to see her show if the tickets weren't comped - they are $25 each!) I'm glad that SW is coming with me, too. I am planning to stop by the florist on the way home to pick up SW to get something nice and cheery for Miss Becca. I adore her. :)

Another good thing happened to me today. There is a lady who sells Lutterlohs on Ebay. A Lutterloh is a pattern making book/system in which you take tiny little to scale patterns and draw them to your own size using a special ruler. I have a Lutterloh from 1950 with heaps of really neat patterns in it, but since I never had the special ruler, the book was nearly useless. I emailed the lady who sells them on Ebay because she noted in one of her auction descriptions that she had instructions to make one of these special rulers, and I wanted to ask her if she wouldn't mind sharing that information with me so that I could make better use of my book. She emailed me the file and I have the ruler now, so I couldn't be happier. She is cool. :)

I went to the fabric store on Wednesday night to get the lining and zipper and other notions to make my sarong dress for Peachy's and after I had made it home, drafted and cut out the pattern (completely from scratch and out of my head, so I hope it will turn out!!), I measured my fabric and realized that I had a yard less than I thought I had, and I didn't have enough to make the dress!! I was unhappy about that... I really like that other fabric and it would have made an adorable sarong dress. But, yesterday I went to Britex Fabrics, which is always my savior when I need fabric, and I found a darling tropical print which is more elegant than the one I had before, and I also found some adorable stylized tiki barkcloth which will become some really adorable pillows, and a stretch cotton with a mod dot pattern, which will, with any luck, be a really hot pair of cigarette pants. So I spent way too much money at Britex. But maybe if my run is sucessful in North Beach I'll make the money back and then some. :) I cut and pinned the pieces for the dress and had SW help hold it up so that I could see what it will look like and he said that he really liked it. :) That's a good sign.

To be continued...

be || free

+ current
+ archives
+ profile
+ reviews
+ book
+ notes
+ email
+ design
+ diaryland
+ other diaries
dirtylinda
sicknick
abittergirl
pixie0323
oddly-enough
cargal
hotrodgal

::I AM This is the rants and raves of a Rockabilly Opera Singer. So far, I'm the only one I know out there....