::I'm back...
11:41 a.m. - 2004-09-29

Rock-a-betty returns from the dead.

Ha ha.

Well, I have been so amazingly busy, and somehow relatively well-adjusted, that I haven't written here in eons.

Things are okay! I've had auditions up the wazoo - last week I had three, and I've already had one this week and have to make a recording tonight for some competitions - and I hardly have any time to think. I certainly don't have time to write and it seems like I've had lots more work lately, so I haven't had much free time at work to write.

I don't feel like I've really got all that much to say! The auditions have almost all been excellent and I'm really hoping to hear something from them. I got a call back from the church job in Woodside - the one where the director wanted someone who could sing straight tone - ? Well, when we were supposed to meet the first time, my car was dead and I had to get a rental, and as a result of my not too stellar planning, I was half an hour late, and he had already left. He gave the job to some gal for a month trial period, and as it turns out, she can't sing with straight tone and so he called me again. Tomorrow is the first time I'll sing with them. The idea is to sing tomorrow's rehearsal and Sunday's services, and then ask the choir if they want me to stick around. I think it seems fair and diplomatic and all of that. Maybe they'll love me! I'm hoping that they will, and that I'll love them. The director has a nice season planned and there are some blank spots in the Christmas services where I could add some nice oratorio arias. :D For $50 per call, it isn't too shabby at all.

Went to a family bar-b-que this past Sunday. My aunt was in town for the wedding of her husband's niece, and so my sister had us all (my Aunt and Uncle, my Mom, her husband, me and SW) over. The idea was that my Aunt and Uncle could meet SW and my sister could show off her house that she's been working so hard on. Well, her brand new patio furniture and patio was perfect, from the "low-voltage lawn lights" to the mister that rained on you whenever you walked out of the house onto the patio. She was glowing about the whole thing and bragging about how much everything cost, which I found slightly irritating, but hey? What can you do? My aunt seemed well and it was interesting how little she actually talked to SW. SW was bored out of his mind. Noone really talked to him much at all. I don't think he liked my aunt at all, and he assumed that she also didn't like him, although my mother swears the contrary.

I don't know if it matters all that much. I was sorry that SW didn't have a good time. The food was awesome, though! I brought a bunch of chicken, since my sister is a vegetarian. I made a rub for the chicken with Italian seasoning, garlic, salt and Dijon mustard and it was fantastic.

My aunt made a quilt for SW and I as a wedding present and it is really very beautiful. It has a fan design, and she used all 1930s reproduction feed-sack type fabrics. It's adorable and I love it. It even has pillows to match.

That's it, really. October is nuts - I have an audition every single weekend. I also have to get my damn harpsichord proficiency done. Tuning my harpsichord might help...

Stay tuned, I might actually start writing again!

P.S. I frickin' love this template. It's perfect! It sums up the essence of what is important in life - Freedom! That probably sounds corny, but you have no idea how much I really mean it. :D

be || free

+ current
+ archives
+ profile
+ reviews
+ book
+ notes
+ email
+ design
+ diaryland
+ other diaries
dirtylinda
sicknick
abittergirl
pixie0323
oddly-enough
cargal
hotrodgal

::I AM This is the rants and raves of a Rockabilly Opera Singer. So far, I'm the only one I know out there....